All Michelle’s Books

The Crocodile Tomb

The Crocodile Tomb

A country at the edge of the world. A hidden tomb. A buried secret. Hylas and Pirra have found their way to the mysterious land of Egypt in pursuit of the dagger of Koronos, only to find that the Crows have got there first. Led by Hylas’ deadly enemy, Telamon, more →

The Eye of the Falcon

The Eye of the Falcon

An endless winter. A plague-haunted land. A dying people. Winter has been colder than anyone can remember – and there is no spring. The terrible eruption of Thalakrea has shrouded the sky in ash and blocked the Sun. The winds of Fate bring Hylas to the island of Keftiu. He more →

The Burning Shadow

The Burning Shadow

A boy on the run. A deadly prophecy. A race against time. Hylas the Outsider is captured by slavers. Set to work in the terrible underground mines of Thalakrea, he learns to his horror that he’s now closer than ever to his murderous enemies, the Crows. He has to escape more →

The Outsiders

The Outsiders

From a time of myths and ancient magic comes a tale of gods and warriors – and the rise of a hero… Hylas is only a boy but he knows three things: The gods exist. Magic is real. Somebody wants him dead. Hunted and alone, Hylas is desperate to find more →

Dark Matter


January 1937. Clouds of war are gathering over a fogbound London. Twenty-eight year old Jack is poor, lonely and desperate to change his life. So when he’s offered the chance to be the wireless operator on an Arctic expedition, he jumps at it. Spirits are high as the ship leaves more →

Ghost Hunter


Ghost Hunter is the final book in Michelle’s Chronicles of Ancient Darkness series – and the book that won her Britain’s most prestigious children’s writing prize, the Guardian Children’s Fiction Prize. As winter approaches and Souls’ Night draws near, the Eagle Owl Mage holds the clans in the grip of more →

Oath Breaker


When he was outcast, Torak was the hunted one. The following spring, he becomes the hunter when he swears to avenge the killing of one of his closest friends.  To fulfil his oath he must brave the hidden valleys of the Deep Forest, where the clans have reverted to the more →



The dreadful secret that Torak carries with him at the close of Soul Eater is revealed and he is cast out from the clans. It’s his fourteenth summer.  He’s alone, cut off even from Wolf and Renn.  Hunted and on the run he takes refuge in unknown territory – the more →

Soul Eater


Torak has survived the summer and his heart-stopping adventure in the Seal Islands.  He and Wolf are together again.   But their reunion is all too short-lived.   As mid-winter approaches Torak learns the worst from the White Fox clan – Wolf has been snatched. In a desperate bid to more →

Spirit Walker


In Spirit Walker, a horrible sickness attacks the Clans, and Torak has to find the cure.  His search takes him across the Sea to the islands of the Seal Clan, where he encounters demons and killer whales, and gets closer to uncovering the truth behind his father’s death, as well more →